My friends, Max, Lenny and Pengu helping me with blood work prep.

My friends, Max, Lenny and Pengu helping me with blood work prep.

The last four and a half weeks have been a whirlwind! I have been rocket launched into the world of child life – and it’s pretty amazing.

First thing, you might think that internship means a break from the intense pace of classes but don’t be fooled, internship is just as crazy – if not more. Not only are you working 40+ hours a week, but there is also the Independent Study paper, site specific internship projects, MAC internship required assignments AND weekly 3-hour classes. And if you’re anything like me, you also have to find time to have a personal life to remain sane. Things have been a little crazy the last few weeks but it has been 100% worth it.

Not one day has looked the same, and everyday I get to make a kid’s time at the hospital just a little bit easier. Today for instance, a mother cried because she was so relieved that her daughter’s blood work went so smoothly and that was because of the prep work that we did beforehand. The 8-year patient and I practiced on Lenny the Lion (pictured above) and came up with a coping plan together so that she could be in charge of her appointment.

My internship is in the Outpatient Clinics at the McMaster Children’s Hospital. On Monday’s I am in the G.I. Clinic supporting kids who suffer Irritable Bowel Disease. Child Life’s role in this clinic is to help explain to the kids what exactly that means as well as supporting them with their treatment. I have become extremely comfortable talking about poop!

Tuesday – Friday’s I am primarily in the Diabetes Clinic but also help see patients who have been referred from other clinics due to different hospital/diagnosis related anxiety. The CCLS and I also get to do school visits for newly diagnosis children with type 1 diabetes. We go into the classroom and teach the class about what diabetes means and why their classmate is poking themself all the time.

My one little piece of advice about internships – is don’t stress out about it! I spent the first 2 months of the program stressing out about where I was going to intern. I was worried about if the internship was going to be the right fit for my learning goals and if my preceptors and I were going to get along. I can honestly say that this has been the perfect fit. Your internship coordinators are looking out for you, they have gotten to know you and know where you are going to fit best. So try not to stress (or at least not as much as I did) and take the opportunity to enjoy the journey because it goes by fast!